DROKK IT! EN Publishing 2000 AD License Ends

Judge Dredd & the Worlds of 2000 AD

In February 2017 I remember seeing the news that EN Publishing were making an RPG I was interested in, using their WOIN system they would bring to life many of the old comics that I’d been a fan of. I’m talking of course, of 2000 AD.

Judge Dredd & the Worlds of 2000 AD launched in 2019 and it was well received, with the core rulebook and several supplements that followed it. Starting with the Robot Wars.

EN Publishing brought together a great team to work on the books, but with Rebellion moving into TTRPGs via their Rebellion Unplugged (Geeknative reports) line – it seems that indeed: All Good Things Must Come to An End.

As of March 2022, EN Publishing will no longer be producing and selling books for this product line, which is frankly, a bit of a downer.

There are many Worlds of 2000 AD, and we’d have liked to see more of them explored by this team with at least the likes of ABC Warriors, Slaine, Nemesis the Warlock and more.

EN Publishing managed to cover at least Strontium Dog, and Rogue Trooper in terms of the different settings and produced quality books for the line.

Core rules cover

Russ Morrisey released this statement on November 16th

“We have some sad new today for fans of Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD.

Our license to create 2000 AD products has come to an end. We started this journey in late 2017, and launched the game in 2019. It has been a wonderful ride, and we have published several Judge Dredd adventure sourcebooks as well as hardcover setting books for Rogue Trooper and Strontium Dog.

It has been wonderful getting to know you all over the past couple of years. Sadly, the pandemic meant that we have not been able to attend conventions for the past 18 months, so we are very much looking forward to Dragonmeet in December.

The good news is that until March 2022 you can still buy 2000 AD roleplaying game products from us (while stocks last!) Even better, at Dragonmeet in London this year, we will be launching our half-price sale for Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD which will last up until March 2022.

The WOIN system which powers the game will, of course, continue as normal, with our next release, a horror adventure/sourcebook called The Possessed, coming soon!

Thank you, everybody, for your support and enthusiasm.

– the EN Publishing team”

With the likes of SOLSPACE: the Spartan Gambit, Dark Decade: From Dust till Dawn, Xenomorphs, and a recently completed Mega-Kickstarter for Level Up (an advanced version of D&D 5th Edition) EN Publishing are still going strong and they have plenty in store, as mentioned in Russ’ statement there’s also a horror/adventure sourcebook on the way called: the Possessed.

If you want to find out more about the WOIN system itself, you can check it out here and if you’re interested in more of EN Publishing’s RPG books you can find out more about this here.

We would like to wish EN Publishing all the best, and say thank you for the books that came out during a pandemic and the work they did on the 2000 AD RPG.

We can’t wait to see what they have in store for us next, and how Level Up finally turns out!

%d bloggers like this: